An Autumn Breeze..

It’s starting to feel like Fall. Cooler mornings just make my coffee taste better. We have been walking Sydni to the bus stop every morning instead of driving. We live at the end of the cul-de-sac, so lately we all set out for the stop sign. Gives us time to talk, stretch our legs, take some deep breaths.. you know, real hippie stuff 😉 Our mornings have been way smoother because now our nights are way smoother. We finish the night together in her bed reading one last story. I try to let her read one on the couch, just so she doesn’t associate reading with wanting to go to sleep, ya know? And at the end of her second story, I’m usually finishing it and she’s yawning. Perfect. I tuck her in and it’s done! No whining about not getting to watch a movie or anything on Netflix. I didn’t take it away, I just limited the amount of time, at a certain time. When she gets out of her bath, she may watch whatever she chooses until 8:00 p.m. She also is learning her bath time influences that time slot, she has to make the nightly choice.. Play a little longer in the bath or watch an episode of Good Luck Charlie.. I going to smile in this small success moment 🙂

We finished our last succession of planting for Brussels sprouts, arugula, spinach, romaine and a salad mix. My container carrots are starting to show sprouts, we’ll see how they do.. Tricky seeds. They did awesome in that same container this spring!! Instead of mums, hopefully my front stoop will hold carrot tops!! Two more weeks before we drop the alliums. WE are trying some potatoes this Fall to see their success. Some red potatoes(my favorite) and a new variety gifted to us. Russian Fingerling potatoes. They sure are funky looking tots!! All I know is when they are chunked up with a mince garlic clove and some diced onion brushed with olive oil and roasted.. Slap your mama right there! We do the same with the Brussels, sometimes chunked together with your potatoes on same baking sheet.

We are harvesting okra, cowpeas and assorted peppers daily. I will put a set of cayenne peppers in the dehydrator today, to grind into powder next week. (Ground pepper, onion, garlic, etc.. in cute jars makes GREAT gifts, especially from an organic garden) We got tired of okra, so thank goodness the peas started maturing!! We ate our first helping two night ago. It was fantastic. The food and the feeling that came with it.

As we are getting ready for Fall, getting our garden ready for a new season, it gives me time to reflect on all we have accomplished this season. Sometimes in the midst of replacing one done plant with another about to begin, you realize you are ending a whole season. I’m pulling up a Roma I started the seed for January 1st, the bell peppers I’m still pulling from I started the same day. It’s incredible how far we’ve come, how much we’ve learned from others, from our earth and from our plants. The deepened respect I have for my Mother Earth every time I see a sprout come up, every time I pull food off a plant I planted to feed my family. It is absolutely empowering.

We are learning plant diversity, rotation and companion planting to eliminate more chances for diseases or pest infestations with out the use of harsh chemicals.

We are learning things are things and are different than happiness. We are opening up to let our lives be redefined by our own means, not society’s.

Live simply, breathe deeply and smile often..

Leave a Reply

