“My days were more exciting when I was penniless and had to forage around for my next meal, I’ve decided that I’m going to live this life for some time to come. The freedom and simple beauty of it is just too good to pass up.” Christopher McCandless

ImageWe get to go camping!!

Michael, Sydni and I get to go set up our camp site, gather wood for our fire, just enjoy some fresh air.

My mom asks me yesterday, tells me more or less, to go get a full time job, both of us. Keep that car. Come up with 15,000 dollars you don’t have. She doesn’t understand that it doesn’t make me lazy that I don’t want to.. I want to spend my time elsewhere. We have a car, a good one, two bicycles and a working set of legs on all of us. The less money you owe out, the less you have to bring in. I don’t need that car to make me happy. Watching Sydni swim in the lake and roast marshmellows with a smile on her face because she’s with me. That’s not wrong…

As soon as we get the land, we’ll be out of this house as well. They really won’t get that. I want to build my house with my hands. To make cob with the earth and mold the place my family will live. There can be not much that compares to that satisfaction. Growing our own food this year, making bread, sharing it with others. This lifestyle is attainable. We will prove it.

Leave a Reply

