Rainy Day Cupcakes :)

Image So Sydni found this show on Netflix, DC Cupcakes. that she really likes. I like Cake Boss myself :) So, she and I have been on a cupcake kick. We made our first batch last week, Princess vanilla cupcakes and we made up our own frosting with leftover halves.. Half a tub of chocolate frosting, half a stick of butter, half a cup powder sugar and half a stick/bar of cream cheese. We had so much fun, that we decided to make a monthly edition cupcake. Come on guys, remember we try and entertain ourselves…

Image

I bought the Wilton 4 piece tip kit last week. The tips weren’t giving me the DC poof I was after, so back I went. I hate spending money, but this was in the name of cupcakes! I bought a sifter too btw, jus sayin’.

We found a recipe that actually is modeled after a cupcake DC has, vanilla/vanilla, that we thought would be perfect for our January cupcake. We also picked up gold and silver sugar toppings, yes I know I splurged. But! I will have those things in my new baking hobby forever.. or until I run out or break something :)

ImageYesterday being one of the YUCKIEST days in awhile made it even cozier in our kitchen. The batter was delicious before it even went into the pan so no worries there. Now for my first homemade buttercream. It’s only 3 things. Okay I’m NEVER buying another cake for birthdays again. Let them eat cupcake cakes!! We filled our piping bags and stared down the cooled cakes….

Mind you we, I have been watching YouTube videos for this, Sydni says she already knows. I wanted to try ALL my tips plus some I’ll prolly never get! But we went the 2A round and a 2E? and started having a time! We split them up to decorate, good thing we had two bags this time.

Image

So far from perfect, we had a great time making these cupcakes!!

Image

One thought on “Rainy Day Cupcakes :)

Leave a Reply

